Weekly Photo Challenge : Kyaiktiyo

Finally, we reached the peak of Mount Kyaiktiyo in Myanmar. 

We hadn’t expected we would reach this place because we didn’t have enough information and it seemed like an impossible thing to do.

But.. there we were.. In the middle of the hard rain and cold air.

And do you know? Everything about this Golden Rock and Pagoda is Against the Odds. The rock seems to defy gravity as it perpetually appears to be on the verge of rolling down the hill.

It is not known what freakish law has kept the boulder in its precarious position for many centuries and despite several violent earthquakes.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge : Kyaiktiyo

  1. This is one of the reasons why I’m debating whether to go to Myanmar or Thailand for my first out-of-the-country trip. Great photo, btw!

      1. I appreciate the vote. Haha! I haven’t been to anywhere else except the Philippines and Southeast Asia would be the best option for traveling. My friend has a certain attachment with Thailand so I’m not sure if I’d choose Thailand as well. But I’m planning on visiting both places. My only problem is which would be first. Haha!

      2. Hmm..until this October, Thailand is in the mourning period..
        Yes..most ​tourist attractions will remain open with the exception of Bangkok’s Wat Phra Kaeo (Temple of the Emerald Buddha) and the Grand Palace, as they will be the venue of the royal funeral rites.
        So I think you better visit Myanmar first..

      3. Right. I almost forgot. Since I’m targeting October as my travel period I guess it’s better to go to Myanmar first.

      4. I think Bali is always included in everyone’s list. 😄 But yeah, it’s my goal to at least visit neighboring Southeast Asian countries. 😊

Leave a Reply

